Enlightened Spirit

(Complete Mage variant, p. 60)

Some warlocks start down the fiendish path, then repent and turn toward the light. Such rare individuals are called enlightened spirits.


Alignment: Any good

Skills: Knowledge (the planes) 8 ranks

Special: Eldritch blast 3d6.

Hit die


Skill points

2 + Int

Class Features

Aura of Courage (Su): You are immune to fear, and each ally within 10 feet of you gains a +4 morale bonus on saving throws against fear effects.

Aura of Menace (Su): A righteous aura surrounds you whenever you fight or get angry. Any hostile creature within a 5-foot radius of you takes a —2 penalty on attacks, AC, and saves for 24 hours or until it successfully hits you. A creature that has resisted or broken the effect can't be affected again by your aura for 24 hours.

Spirit Blast (Sp): This invocation (Lesser; 4th; Eldritch Essence) allows you to change your eldritch blast into a spirit blast. The blast deals an extra 1 point of damage per die to undead. Your spirit blast also affects incorporeal creatures without the normal miss chance.

Eldritch Blast (Sp): At 2nd level and every even-numbered level thereafter, the damage of your eldritch blast improves by 1d6 points.

Spirit Armor (Su): Beginning at 2nd level, you gain a +1 sacred bonus to Armor Class.

The bonus improves to +2 at 6th level and +3 at 10th level.

Celestial Flight (Sp): At 3rd level, you gain the celestial flight invocation (Lesser; 3rd). The powers of light bear you aloft as you sprout shimmering spirit wings. You can fly at a speed equal to your land speed with good maneuverability for 24 hours.

Tongues (Su): Beginning at 4th level, you can speak any language. This ability works as the tongues spell does, except that it is continuously active. You can suppress or resume the effect as a free action.

Shape Invocation (Sp): At 5th level, you learn any one least, lesser, or greater blast shape invocation.

Energy Resistance 5 (Su): At 5th level, you gain resistance 5 to any two of the following energy types: acid, cold, electricity, and fire.

Holy Blast (Sp): At 7th level, you gain an invocation (Greater; 6th; Eldritch Essence) that allows you to change your eldritch blast into a holy blast. The blast deals an extra 1 point of damage per die to evil outsiders. The blast also affects any evil outsider as if you had cast a dimensional anchor spell on it.

Transform Magic (Sp): Gained at 9th level, this invocation (Greater; 6th) allows you to deliver a targeted greater dispel magic with your touch. You or any ally within 30 feet of you can heal 5 points of damage for each spell level dispelled by this touch (the spell level is determined by its caster's class). For example, if you successfully dispel a wall of ice, you or an ally can heal up to 20 points of damage. You can't transform your own invocations.

Death Ward (Su): At 10th level, you become immune to death spells, magical death effects, energy drain, and negative energy effects as the death ward spell.

Ex-Enlightened Spirit

An enlightened spirit who becomes non-good loses all class features granted by this prestige class and can't gain any further levels of enlightened spirit. You regain your abilities and advancement potential if you once again become good and atone for your violations (see atonement, PH 201).


Level BAB Fort Ref Will Special
1st +0 +0 +0 +2 Aura of courage, aura of menace, spirit blast
2nd +1 +0 +0 +3 Eldritch blast +1d6, spirit armor (+1 AC)
3rd +2 +1 +1 +3 Celestial flight
4th +3 +1 +1 +4 Eldritch blast +2d6, tongues
5th +3 +1 +1 +4 Shape invocation, energy resistance 5
6th +4 +2 +2 +5 Eldritch blast +3d6, spirit armor (+2 AC)
7th +5 +2 +2 +5 Holy blast
8th +6 +2 +2 +6 Eldritch blast +4d6
9th +6 +3 +3 +6 Transform magic
10th +7 +3 +3 +7 Eldritch blast +5d6, death ward, spirit armor (+3 AC)

Class skills

Skill name Key ability Trained only Armor check penalty
Bluff CHA no no
Concentration CON no no
Craft INT no no
Diplomacy CHA no no
Disguise CHA no no
Intimidate CHA no no
Jump STR no yes
Knowledge (arcana) INT yes no
Knowledge (religion) INT yes no
Knowledge (the planes) INT yes no
Profession WIS yes no
Sense Motive WIS no no
Spellcraft INT yes no
Use Magic Device CHA yes no

Spells for Enlightened Spirit

Comments on this single page only